Spring Fever

Chicken coop update…..It is going to be great!  LL got home Friday night after a long week out-of-town for work.  In the back of the pick-up, he had all the materials needed for the coop.  Some of the coop is made of recycled wood, etc. But we did need to use quite a bit of new wood and paint.  Saturday, he spent most the day building it.  Then he was back on the road Sunday for work.  He will be back Wednesday night.

Yesterday was a beautiful day here in the Willamette Valley.  Dry,  sunny, and warm.  My mom, Kris, Toby and I went to Portland to visit my Uncle Marcel in his new home….foster care. It is a lovely home.  We then made a quick stop in Woodburn, then off to visit Kathy in Salem.  By the time we were done visiting her, we were hungry.  We had a nice lunch at Applebee’s.  I got home around 2:30.  I am glad I did because I knew the weather was changing and I needed to get a bit done before the rain came.  So I mowed the lawn, fertilized the roses, painted the chicken coop, cleaned the front balcony.  I wanted the balcony cleaned so LL and I can start having our morning coffee time out there when the weather is dry.

But it is not dry now…..no siree.  This morning is the big Wilco sale the comes 2 or 3 times a year.  Could not come at a better time, because I am low an animal food.  I was there when they opened at 7:00.  Bought sacks of potting soil, dog food, chicken scratch, and layer pellets.  Loaded up and was home by 7:10.  🙂  I impressed myself. LOL  If you go even 20 minutes later, you can plan on standing in line for a half hour or so.  At least that is my experience.  Luckily, I have my strong son Max home till 9:30. so before he goes to work, I will have him unload the very heavy sacks.

So today is all about working inside.  To say my house is dirty would not be true.  But I am not sure what happens, there is stuff all over every flat surface.  Papers, tools, etc. etc.  The laundry room is the worse.  So I will take advantage of the rain today and stay inside.  I must admit, I am getting anxious to get flowers on the balcony.  I am going light on flowers this year, but really want to enjoy our balcony in the mornings and have a few flowers sitting around to enjoy.  Maybe I will pick up a few flowers and if there is a dry spell today or tomorrow, I might pretty up the balcony.

 

Posted on March 25, 2014, in Chickens, Family, garden, Household, Weather. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

