I Hate These Phone Calls

I love the “greatest generation”.  My parents generation.  They grew up during the depression.  Fought wars, worked hard, knew how to do without, played hard, etc.  My dad was a perfect example of this generation.  My mom too.  Over the last few months, I have lost 4 aunts and uncles on my dad’s side of the family.  Uncle Mel was the most recent just last month.

I have a couple good friends whose parents are from this generation.  Yesterday I found out one of my friends mother had a massive stroke.  I am waiting till it gets a little later this morning to call my friend for an update on her mom.  I also need to call her will some sad news.  Another of my friends called me early this morning to let me know her mother-in-law passed away.  I have known this woman for about 16 years and like most women of this generation, she was feisty and strong so I am a little stunned that she is gone.

I really hate seeing the passing of all these people I have come to know and admire.  But this is the reality of life.  They had to say goodbye to their parents generation and so it goes.

Posted on July 10, 2013, in Musings. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. so sorry for your losses. I’m entering that stage where I’m saying goodby to lots of uncles and aunties. Its very sad. My grandmother raised her family in accused Greece and then they came out here to Australia they did it hard. That really was an amazing generation I shudder to think what would happen if we all had to step up.

  2. Thank you Angela….I am trying to process all these losses while trying to plan wonderful weddings for my kids of the next generation. It is a hard balance.

Leave a Reply

