Drives Me Crazy

LL was up and out of the house shortly after 5:00 this morning.  Most of the State employees are on furlough today.  But he will take his furlough in a few days.  Since he oversees facilities, these days without employees in the office is the best time to get contractors in the building to do what ever work needs to be done.  So he is on his way to the Oregon coast.  Just for the day.

Good thing LL started his day early.  It forces me to get moving earlier.  Bailey and I need to leave at 6:45 to make it to her eye appointment at 7:20.  She has a doctor appointment at 1:30.  So in-between we are shopping for wedding and shower items.  Things like plates, cups, etc. for both.  I need to buy a table-cloth.  I would like a pretty one to use for the shower.  Something that I can use for most occasions.  I think Bailey wants to buy some decorations for the shower.  We will be all over the place.  Most places will not be open when she is done with eye appointment.  This means we will go from the most southern part of town, to the only place we are going that will be open which is on the most northern part of town.  Then back to the most southern part of town and work our way north.  I really hate that.

I almost never waste gas and money like that.  I always consolidate trips anywhere.  I rarely go to Salem unless I have several errands I can do on the same trip.  Same goes for Portland.  When I go to my doctor’s appointments, I take that opportunity to stop at Whole Foods.  My mom is like this.  When I pick her up on Fridays in Woodburn, we go to the store, doctor’s office…….what ever we can think of in that town so that we don’t waste gas going  back.  I even do this in our small town of Silverton.  If I can walk it, I will.  But if I have the car out, I do all my errands so to avoid wastefulness.

This is foreign to younger people.  Well at least my kids.  Sometimes Bailey will run to Salem, do what ever she needs to do, comes home and turns around and goes right back.  I don’t think she is unique.  I guess I am too frugel sometimes, but it’s not just the money, I worry about the environment so am mindful not to waste resources.  I think I sometimes drive Bailey crazy because of it.  Thinking that is only fair.  After all, her driving all around drives me crazy.

Posted on April 26, 2013, in Bailey, Day's Agenda, Environment. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

