I’ve Been Waiting

Good morning.  Say, guess whose birthday it is.  I remember when I turned 40, I had some ask if that big birthday bothered me at all.  It did not.  I kept waiting for it to hit me.  I knew a couple of friends that were very upset turning the big 4-0.  But for some reason, I loved turning forty.  It is a great age.  At least for me.  It is an age where you are wiser, you know what you don’t know, and you don’t really care that you don’t know it. 🙂  It is also an age that you really stop caring what people think of you and you become more who you are for the world to see.  At least that is how it was for me.  Yes, I loved turning 40.

So now I am waiting for this birthday to bother me in some way.  Today, Konnie Jean Staab-Miller turns 50!  I am so happy to be doing so. 🙂  Maybe it has something to do with 4 years ago, me wondering if I would ever get to be 50.  But I don’t think that is it.  I don’t feel 50.  Oh my body sure does.  Between the scars, arthritis, “issues”, weight gain, gray hair,……Oh I wear every bit of my 50.  But inside, I still feel like a silly 16-year-old.  Well ok, I am not as shy, and I know what I don’t know.  When you are 16, 26, even 36, you are JUST SO SURE of yourself.  Now, my usual answers to questions are, “Not sure, possibly, maybe, etc.”  But I feel 16 inside because I still get extremely happy when I get to spend time with my highschool sweetheart, I still dance around the house while doing my chores, I still love animals (more than some humans) 🙂 I still crank up the radio when my Elton comes on.  I still have tons of useless music trivia    in my head. (Just can’t remember what I did yesterday).  I still respect and admire my mom, my sisters are still my best friends, I still try to torture my brothers, (they return the favor).  Some things really don’t change.

But at 50, my kids are all grown and I am happy to be watching them form new lives, happy for my grandchild and will wait patiently for more.  Happy for the life LL and I have formed ourselves.

I guess I am just happy to have another birthday.  Must say, when LL and I were talking about it last night, I said it only hits me a little when I think about it this way……in twenty years I will be 70!  LOL  Well Happy 50th Birthday to me!!!

 

Posted on January 5, 2013, in Holidays, Musings, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh!!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY, KONNIE! My wonderful old world mother in law, at 79, said she was just 16 inside, and so many people at our age have the same reflection. Thank you so much for a wonderful outlook, I hope you have a wonderful day and enjoy your 50th year. 🙂

  2. Happy birthday, enjoy the day. Xxx

Leave a Reply

