Stupid Mom, Smart Max

I hope you are having a good morning.  I am getting a slow start this morning.  Here in Oregon, yesterday around 3:30 in the afternoon, a gunman opened fire in a mall filled with holiday shoppers and employees.  3 dead, including the shooter.  Bailey and I were glued to the news, waiting for updates.  What does it say about our society, when you finally hear that 2 are murdered and you think, oh good, it could have been so much worse?…… 😦

Max had a hard evening and couldn’t sleep last night because of it.  He always gets upset when he hears about these shootings, but I usually can calm him because I tell him that it happened a long ways away.  I tried that this time.  Thinking he was hearing Clackamas mall and would not know it was in Oregon.  Stupid Mom, Smart Max.  He looked at me like I was crazy when I said it was far away and he said, “Mom, I have been there, it is right here in Oregon.”  Well it was worth a try because I knew how upset he would be.

The plan today is for me to see how Max is doing and not leave him till his staff arrives and I update them on how he is doing.  Then if Bailey is up for it, we might go to Woodburn Outlet Mall and buy a couple of gifts that I want her opinion on.  But she was up and moving far too much yesterday afternoon and paid for it last night, so she might opt to just stay home.

Heard from LL this morning.  He will be in Pendleton for a few hours today and then make his way to Enterprise, Oregon.  I am finally getting used to him being gone for multiple nights.

Posted on December 12, 2012, in Beau, Max. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It’s always so horrendous when e hear of these shootings. I pray for the families. Stay safe out there!

Leave a Reply

