Social Hours

 

Yesterday was a really nice day.  I am not the most social person in the world.  In my family, my extended and core, I am the least social person.  I would say even my son with Autism is more social than I am.  I have never been comfortable with small talk.  When going somewhere that I am unfamiliar, if LL is with me, I let him take the lead.  LL can visit with anyone about anything.  Once I get to know people well, I thoroughly enjoy visiting.  Enjoy social time.  But until then, I feel awkward and tongue-tied.  So having a day that was spent mostly visiting and enjoying it is a rarity.

I met up with two friends, Becky and Pam.  We’re old friends.  We know each other very well.  Through the years, we have raised our kids, prayed for each other’s kids and families, confided to each other and in tough times, they are two of the first I would call.  In fact, when I was diagnosed, they were two I called almost immediately because it was important that they did not hear the news some other way and I wanted their prayers and support.  We got together yesterday morning and caught up with each other and had a relaxing time.

I then went to lunch with my daughter Bailey.  We went to Leona’s in Mt. Angel and spent a couple of hours talking about her vacation and plans up ahead.  My Bailey is a daddy’s girl, but there is something special about a mother/daughter relationship when the relationship becomes an adult bond.

In the evening I went to my book club.  A few months back, I did not know any of these ladies.  One I knew a little, but except for me, the small group have been friends or family for years.  Not a situation I am normally comfortable in.  But these ladies are all friendly, kind and very different from one another.  It has been fun getting to know them.  I spent about three hours visiting, reading, dining, and just having a relaxing, unawkward evening.

I packed in one day, much more social time than I have had in years.  I guess I really am a hermit.

I did have some “issues” yesterday.  I was not as careful with what I ate for lunch as I had hoped.  So the afternoon was not fun.  Had a little problem at book club and I am writing this at 4:00 am.  I have been up for a couple of hours.  I think I got about three hours of sleep last night.  I guess calling it last night is not accurate, since technically, it still is night.  I hope to push through the day though.  At least this morning.  I really don’t want to skip my walk with Kris.  It is our time together.  Kind of our therapy time.  Good for our relationship, our bodies, and general well-being.  If I am really dragging, maybe we will skip going up the Abbey hill and just walk around town.

Beyond that, I will be kind to myself, get watering and “have to’s” done, but not worry about what else I might do today.  I hope you have a blessed day.

Posted on August 1, 2012, in Book club, Family, Friends, Health. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

