Just one of those days

Yesterday, David had surgery on his other hand.  Kris and I took him and everything went well.  Except that the doctor, when looking at the first hand he did surgery on 10 days ago, was not happy.  David is kind of hyper and did too much, too soon.  It didn’t help that Kris threw David under the bus and made David tell the doctor just how much he was doing.  Then the doctor looked at me like I had some responsibility to make David behave.  I straightened out the doctor and let him know that I absolutely take no responsibility for David’s actions and then I basically threw Mom under the bus. 🙂  But she was not there so I decided she was the safest choice.

Mom and I are picking berries and making jam today.  When gleaning the field after the picker has gone through, it takes longer than normal because you are picking the berries that the picker missed, which is usually at the bottom.  But I particularly feel sorry for Mom this morning, because of all her children, I am the second slowest picker.  Doug is even worse but I think that is because he always ate half what he picked.  I don’t eat them, I am just slow.

Before we go out and pick and then make jam, Mom and David are going to Wilco for the sale, and I will probably be there too.  It starts at 7:00 and you really have to be there then, because things run out quickly.  I need chicken feed and scratch.  I also need to run to the store to pick up sugar and MCP for the jam.   At some point this morning, I need to make a couple of burocrasy calls.  One for Kathy and one for Max.  I hope I don’t get the run around.

Here is the tricky part of my day.  My book club meets tonight.  We are starting  a new book and I don’t have it yet.  Was going to borrow it from someone, but I have not been able to get it from them and time has run out.  The library doesn’t open till 10:00 and I will be making jam at that point.  So when I am done, I will go to the library and hope they have it.  If they don’t, I will not have time to find it elsewhere.  I might need to download it on my eReader.  Really hate buying a book when I can borrow from someone or the library, but that’s what I might have to do.

Now, even though my day doesn’t look too bad, I have been up for two hours already and it is only 4:30 now.  So again, I will be dragging by this afternoon.  Sometimes I think I should just face that I am no longer much of a night sleeper and figure out away to darken the house and routinely take a nap around 2:00 every day.  Like that’s going to happen. 😦  Well I better get going.  I decided to fit in a walk this morning and even though it will still be dark at 5:00, I am thinking it will be my only chance.  Have a great day.

 

Posted on July 24, 2012, in Book club, Evelyn, Family. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

