Nora Ephron

Just Saturday, LL and I watched for I don’t know how many times, When Harry Met Sally.  The quick and quirkiness of the writing makes it one of our favorites.  Nora Ephron wrote it.  Another one of our favorites, (yes, even LL’s) is You’ve Got Mail.  So Saturday, while watching the movie, I told LL how much I love Nora Ephron’s work.  (Books and Movies).  I had never in my life, talked to anyone about Nora Ephron or my admiration for her.  Strange coincidence.  I always enjoyed watching interviews with her.  She was kind, but brutally honest.  The most frequent target of her honesty was herself.  Always pointing out the flaws in personality and looks.  Flaws that would be inspiration for her books and screen plays.  Flaws that made her quick-witted and quirky.  I would always d.v.r. a show if I knew Nora Ephron would be interviewed.  She understood women.  She understood our feelings on love, parenthood and heartbreak.  And she made us see the humor in it all.  I will miss Nora Ephron’s writing.  Luckily, we have a wealth of work to come back to.  Rest in peace, Nora Ephron

Here are a few Nora quotes…..

As far as the men who are running for president are concerned, they aren’t even people I would date

Insane people are always sure that they are fine. It is only the sane people who are willing to admit that they are crazy.

My mother wanted us to understand that the tragedies of your life one day have the potential to be comic stories the next.

My mother was a good recreational cook, but what she basically believed about cooking was that if you worked hard and prospered, someone else would do it for you.

When you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.

Marriage comes and goes, but divorce is forever.

With any child entering adolescence, one hunts for signs of health, is desperate for the smallest indication that the child’s problems will never be important enough for a television movie.

Posted on June 27, 2012, in Books, Movies, Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

