Relearning lessons

Good Morning!  Boy am I doing well on my elimination diet.  I went out to dinner on Tuesday and had a few foods all at once.  Besides a bit of bloating, I had no adverse affect from it.  But the trouble with having too many ingredients at one time is what I said before…..which ingredient is the problem.  Suspect it was the halibut.  But that was the only time over the last week that I didn’t adhere to the adding one food at a time rule.

I have had cheese a couple of times and so far so good. 🙂  I think the hardest one food for me to give up forever would be cheese.  I have tried my favorite gluten-free cracker.  I know, a lot of ingredients go into the cracker, but I tried it anyway since there is no preservatives and only three ingredients and it seems to have caused no problem.  I have not had any beef, pork, chicken, etc.  I know too much of any of these causes problems but I do want to test out eating a small portion at a time to see if I need to totally rule out meat.  Fish is another issue.  I will test out a small portion of fish and then shell-fish.  I hope I can eat salmon because it has a lot of cancer fighting compounds in it.

I am suspecting one thing.  If you have read my other blog.  Remember last year I did a Real Food challenge.  I felt really good while eating no processed, homemade food.  I have a feeling that when I start trying out things like salad dressings, premade gluten-free marinades, etc., my “issues” may start-up again.  If that is the case, and I truly have to eliminate all that from my diet, this requires tons more work in food preparation.  Making my own mayo, even not eating my Udi’s gluten-free bread, means getting more creative and building better skills in canning and cooking.

I do feel so much better this week.  When having issues on and off all week-long, it tuckers a person out.  I have had little energy over the winter.  But this week I feel back to my old self.  Monday I thoroughly swept, mopped and polished my hard wood floor.  This usually is a two-day undertaking, but I finished it by about 2:00 in the afternoon.  I try to do this 3 or 4 times a year but I went a bit too long this time around.   Tuesday had me running around a bit with errands and yesterday, Max was home with a stomach bug.  He is doing better today and will make it to work.  He still is dealing with temporary staff as the provider still hasn’t  found the right person to replace O.

Today, I have a few things to take care of around here.  My fridge is starting to look like a science experiment and I need  to take care of some calls and paper work.  On Tuesday, I bought a book that I have been wanting on gardening.  I hope when I get my work done, to sit and start reading it.  The book has lots of ideas about how to make the most of gardening in small spaces and has a section on chickens and coops.  My girls really need a new coop but I haven’t had the heart to push LL on this lately.  But this spring I am determined to butter him up enough to build a new nifty coop.  Well a girl can dream.

 

Posted on April 5, 2012, in cooking, Diet, Family, gluten, Health, Household, Max and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. So glad to hear that you’re doing better! 🙂

Leave a Reply

