Are They Livestock or Are They Pets

My girls have stopped producing eggs.  They are already starting to molt and most likely will not be laying again before march.  This years egg production was not nearly as much as last year, and next years will be probably reduced to an egg or two every few days. 

Our town doesn’t allow for chickens but because of being grandfathered in and the size of our place, I can have three.  I know, I know!  What about Alice?  Well I was trying to rotate in so I could rotate out.  Ok, OK…my bad.  Anyway…..

I need to decide what to do.  My friend had her hens butchered to cook later.  Two things on this, I know what an old hen tastes like, and although it might be fine to stew, it brings me to the second…I do not eat things I have named.  OK, I did eat the beef we raised, Bob Bull, and I forget the others names….but my sweet hens are a different story. 

I think I need to keep them through the winter, no matter what, because not having chickens for 4 months might do away with the grandfather thing, but do I eventually send them to the auction, to be bought by the chinese lady who will eventually make eggflower flour,no flower, (oh I don’t know) soup out of them and get three new ones, or do I just resign myself to not having eggs and letting Henrietta, Harriet and Hannah live out their lives with me.  Are they livestock or are they pets.  What do you think?  Please, don’t give me your opinion if you belong to Peta, I already know what you think.  Don’t give me a hard time.

Posted on October 28, 2011, in Chickens, Household. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. What would make you happier down the line… enjoying your friendly hens and some nice fresh organic eggs anytime you wanted? Tough choice… I would probably go for the fresh eggs 😦 I know, maybe not the answer you were looking for.

  2. What would make you happier down the line… enjoying your friendly hens and some nice fresh organic eggs anytime you wanted? Tough choice… I would probably go for the fresh eggs 😦 I know, maybe not the answer you were looking for. Oops, that was supposed to be “or”, not and.

    • Thanks for the imput. That is actually how I am leaning, but then I look at their cute little faces and know each of the personalities.

      • Hannah Heifer, Bob Bull, and Joe Jersey… I remember bottle feeding them, then when I asked Allen why we didn’t have to go feed the cows anymore as he was making tacos and what did he do? Mooed as he was petting the skillet… Mostly why I spent the next year a vegetarian.

  3. I know Katie, we really did do a number on you 🙂

Leave a Reply

