November Planning

I know November is a month away.  But I am planning already.  For the first time since my cancer, and “issues”, I am going on a plane.  My family, husband, siblings, Mom, Aunt, and niece and nephew will be going two ways.  Half are flying and half are driving.  This is a blessing.  Even though I am flying, I will be sending my food and most of diaper stuff in the car that will be arriving shortly after the flying group.  A fortunate girl I am.  Getting on a plane wearing a diaper and taking a few changes is embarrassing enough.  Especially if I get a pat down.  But having to take a whole separate suitcase with food and diapers, ointments, wipes etc. sounded a little daunting.  At least for this first trip.

I have the best siblings around.  Karen, Kris, and David are incredibly supportive.  Between the three of them, I have an affordable flight, first thing in the morning both ways, and staying at a time-share my sister and husband are providing so I have a bathroom and a kitchen, which is a must.  I want them to know how much I appreciate their efforts so that I can go with the group. 

We are going to Reno.  I am not much of a gambler, but I have enjoyed going on this trip a few times with my family.  Everyone is so relaxed and we always end up spending most the time laughing and making fun of each other.  I have two particular memories.  One of LL going toe to toe with a waitress in Virginia city while Steve is looking on, laughing his A$$ off.  And of course, Kris and I hiding toy snakes to scare the bejeebies out of David.  Oh I have three of them ready for this next trip.:) 🙂 :).

Yesterday, I went to Penny’s with Mom and Kris and bought three tops and three long but light-weight cardigans to take for the trip.  Long cardigans that cover my diapered bottom is a must.  I have found it is the only way to disguise what is going on down below unless I am wearing a flowy dress.  Frankly, I am most comfortable wearing dresses, but not in Reno.  So clothes are figured out.  Now the food.  I don’t want to be running around the day before, trying to get food made and packed up.  So for the next few weeks, when I am making a safe soup, stir fry, or whatever, I will be putting it in the freezer.  This way I will only need to get a few of my girls eggs, fresh fruit and gluten-free bread to add to the food cooler. 

I am praying that between timing my eating and taking an imodium, I will make both plane rides without incident.  That I my biggest fear.  But I can only do, what I can only do.

Posted on September 29, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Can’t wait to go, really looking forward to some good laughs, especially at David’s expense.. (snakes)…

Leave a Reply

