Cole slaw

I love coleslaw.  For years, I have made it like my moms.  Cabbage, a yummy miracle whip, sugar, and vinegar sauce and occasionally throw in some walnuts.  And for years, my husband has loved this salad.  But sometimes a wife needs to change things up, surprise her husband, be adventurous.  I could spice things up in other ways for him, but I choose to do so cooking in the kitchen…..Sorry Hun.

So here is the way I made the new slaw.

  • 1 med. head cabbage
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 sweet onion
  • 2 or 3 carrots
  • Salt
  • 1/3 Cup of each of the following…Cider vinegar, olive oil, and sugar. (I used agave nectar because of a lower spike in blood sugar)

Shred, chop or grate the first four ingredients.  What ever texture you prefer.  Mix them up and add salt.  (I go low on salt and add to taste when salad is cooled)

In sauce pan, heat vinegar, oil and sugar(sweetener) you could use honey to replace sugar.  Heat three ingredients until just starting to boil, then pour directly onto the veggies while hot.

Mix and put immediately into the fridge and chill for at least a couple of hours but the longer the better. 

This salad is supposed to last for weeks in the fridge.  I will never know, as this is the second batch I have made this week.  It goes fast.  OOPS, forgot to give credit to who and where I got the recipe.  Simple green frugal co op blog.  Link down below.

http://simple-green-frugal-co-op.blogspot.com/2011/08/garden-time-summer-slaw.html

Posted on August 26, 2011, in cooking, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

